PR Councillors

Thaba Chweu is divided into 14 wards, and a total of 21 councillors make up the council – of both elected (14 ward representatives) and proportional (7 councillors) representation. Each ward councillor chairs a ward committee as part of the Ward Participatory System that brings participation down to community level. New ward committees are elected after local government elections, which take place every five years.

Ward councillors play a central role in the communication process between the communities they represent and the Council, reporting back regularly through ward meetings and assisting the community in identifying needs and priority areas of development which feed into the municipality's planning processes.

Cllr D.R Nkabinde
073 358 8918
Cllr P.S Makhubela
073 005 4922
Cllr P.D Marobela
083 723 4929
Cllr G.P Raphiri
083 537 8863
Cllr C.J Sibiya
073 553 6402
Cllr M.L Netshirembe
073 469 7178
Cllr J.H Ligthelm
082 908 4171


Thaba Chweu Local Municipality, is a municipality of South Africa, located in the Ehlanzeni District Municipality, Mpumalanga.
Thaba Chweu Local Municipality


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

013 235 7300

013 235 1108

3 Sentraal Street, Lydenburg, 1120